2017 Pulitzer Prize Winners Announced

2017 Pulitzer Prize Winners Announced

The 2017 Pulitzer Prize Winners were announced today at Columbia University in New York, N.Y. Pulitzer Prize Administrator Mike Pride made the announcement, and the following are a few of the many standouts.

Breaking News Photography

Daniel Berehulak, freelance photographer, "For powerful storytelling through images published in The New York Times showing the callous disregard for human life in the Philippines brought about by a government assault on drug dealers and users. (Moved into this category from Feature Photography by the nominating jury.)"

Feature Photography

E. Jason Wambsgans of Chicago Tribune, "For a superb portrayal of a 10-year-old boy and his mother striving to put the boy’s life back together after he survived a shooting in Chicago."

International Reporting

The New York Times Staff, "For agenda-setting reporting on Vladimir Putin’s efforts to project Russia’s power abroad, revealing techniques that included assassination, online harassment, and the planting of incriminating evidence on opponents."

National Reporting

David A. Fahrenthold of The Washington Post, "For persistent reporting that created a model for transparent journalism in political campaign coverage while casting doubt on Donald Trump’s assertions of generosity toward charities."

You can view all of the 2017 Pulitzer Prize Winners and Finalists here. Congratulations to all of the winners and finalists!

Log in or register to post comments